NC State University  | campus directory  |  libraries  |  mypack portal  |  campus map  |  search

Nov 23 2011

Homecoming announces Leader of the Pack

NC State vs. Clemson University, 1975

The Leader of the Pack award has long been a tradition during NC State’s homecoming celebration. As a scholarship program sponsored by the Center for Student Leadership,  Ethics and Public Service, Leader of the Pack recipients earn $1,000 and recognition during NC State’s homecoming half-time show. What does it take to be elected Leader of the Pack? In addition to academic success, NC State’s Pack leaders must exhibit community service experience and leadership skills. CSLEPS awards two scholarships each year.

Originally awarded in 1975, Leader of the Pack honored students who demonstrated school spirit and, for a brief time, replaced the homecoming queen competition. NC State’s first Pack leaders were Buell Little and Billy Clark, Sigma Nu fraternity brothers who dressed as aging alumni at football games.* These days it takes more than an “old man” mask to garner the honor of Leader of the Pack; student leaders must submit applications, interview, and be elected by the student body to win the title.

Former Student Body Presidents, Harold Pettigrew, Darryl Willie, Anthony Caravano and current President Chandler Thompson were all elected Leaders of the Pack. Additionally, former Student Senate President Seth Whitaker and former Student Body Presidents Robert Zimmer and Jenny Chang were finalists for the award. These students served in prominent Student Government leadership positions and held membership in several student organizations.

On November 19, CSLEPS recognized Michelle Philips and Alan Sheridan as NC State’s 2011 Leaders of the Pack. Congratulations to these students!

Check out the profiles of these Pack leaders, and many other student leaders, at

*Technician (29 October 1975)

CSLEPS, “Leader of the Pack,” available from, accessed 23 November 2011.